Chandler and Tammy adoption

Two rescued dogs snowed into a kennel with  almost no access during a WV blizzard last winter.  The kennel was without heat or resources for cleaning/walking/vet care. They are both altered, house-trained, up-to-date on shots and hw prevention, but due for a vet visit.  Chandler, a 3 yo 40 lb male, is an independent, very smart, alpha dog who is an excellent problem solver.  He knows sit, down, and is superbly socialized to other dogs.  He does very well with people in social situations (being walked or run off-leash on a bicycle), and does pretty well (barks) with people territorially. Although he is an alpha dog and needs a strong leader – I have no complaints, but accept that I am “co-alpha” of the pack, and get “corrected” sometimes.  My neighbor calls him Teddy Bear.  He can be

a very affectionate dog, but also is a highly sensitive warning dog whose sensitivity responds very well to crating at night (that he enjoys). Needs indoor, and big outdoor privileges, as well as integration into a family.  He loves freedom and the outdoors, and is a great protector.  Great dog for a strong woman.

Tammy, a 1 year old small pitbull female, is very gentle and eager to please with her family, consistently looking for, and responding to, direction.  She seeks comfort at every opportunity, loves and respects Chandler, and wants to cuddle with a human on a cushion or bed.  She knows sit, down, and paw, and has had extensive work with “out” from play immediately on command, which she does well at home.  Confidence in her around people, and dogs in her pack, although she will approach and bark at people who enter her territory. If  you want a small pit, she is a nice example of the breed.   In Houston area, contact “CAP”, or visit the Katy dog park.  202-253-7058.

“They are your friends, your partners, your defenders, your dogs. You are their life, their love, their leader. They will be yours, faithful and true, to the last beats of their hearts. You owe it to them to be worthy of such devotion.”

                                                                                 Adoption Pledge

I, ______________________________, pledge to care for these animals _____________________ to the best of my ability for the rest of their lives. I promise to listen carefully when they talk to me, remembering that God can speak to me through them when I need guidance during family fights. In keeping with Indian traditions, I promise to allow them to teach me to respect the environment.
In exchange for their wisdom, I promise to teach them to the best of my ability to listen to me: learning the basic commands: sit, down, roll over, no, leave it, heel, push-ups, no bite, sit-ups, wait, stay, whisper … I will respect their exercise needs by walking them every day knowing that they will need and treasure every second of this time with me. This time I will consider as communion with God, and I will remember to say my prayers – thanking God and asking for His help during this time.
I will feed them at least once, but more ideally at least twice, every day – dog food, or table scraps. I will also make sure that they have access to water every day. I will make sure they are never too cold, and never too warm.
I will make them a part of “my pack”, socializing them to the best of my ability, to other dogs, cats, children, and adults.  I am aware of the current animal crisis in the Baltimore, Houston, Atlanta, WV, KY, OH and several other areas:

• Baltimore City Animal Shelter adopted out 2.2% of the 17000 animals that were taken in during 2002. Fewer than 12% of the animals survive 1 month at the shelter. www.citypaper.com/news/story.asp?id=7519

• Texas has 500,000 homeless pets, and an average shelter euthanasia rate of 75%.

• As of 2005, metro Atlanta pet overpopulation statistics were staggering. Of the 19 county animal control shelters surveyed, 130,000 animals were impounded collectively (SPOTsociety.org). Of the animals impounded, a mere 8% were reclaimed and only 22% were adopted.

• In a 1996 survey, about 210 000 dogs and 110 000 cats entered Ohio shelters; 65% were euthanized.
• Each year, around 83,000 pets enter Houston shelters. Of the Houston pets, 71 percent will likely be euthanized.
• As an example, it costs taxpayers in Houston as much as $176 to impound, house, and destroy a homeless pet through the shelter system. About $40-80 will spay or neuter the same pet.   For a recent National Public Radio broadcast on the animal crisis, listen to:
wamu.org/news/08/07/08.php#21782

I promise that, if I decide to allow them to produce puppies that may be killed in a shelter, I will:
1) First visit the shelters to see all the unwanted animals before they are killed.
Local shelters are listed here:
hadr-tx.org or baltimoreanimalshelter.org or petfinder.com or flickr.com/photos/livedog or houstonhumane.org
WV.:304-425-2838
    or TX: (281) 497-0591
2) Find a good home for every puppy produced under my roof – in my own home if necessary.
3) In no case, allow the dog to sire or have more than one litter of puppies.
Spaying them will be the easier solution, especially if they are ever unsupervised. I will give them needed shots, worming, heartworm medicine, and flea and tick medicine. I will not keep them for long periods on a leash, chain, or alone. I will not move into a living situation that will not allow me to keep these animals. I will give them health check-ups at reasonable intervals:
http://www.theinternetpetvet.com/i-cant-do-this-nearly-as-good-as-my-veterinarian.  If the animals’ happiness or well-being is ever in question in my care, I will email hope4cure@earthlink.net so the animals can be rehomed.
If I fall short in any way, I will ask God to forgive me.                    Signature ______________________________Date _________________
Support System (at least one friend) ____________________________ agrees to help care for these animals if I am too ill to care for these members of my pack.

Signature _________________________________Witness _________________________   Church __________________________
If your church has 1000 members (including children), and you are responsible for 36 adoptions, then you will have done more than your share to help to start to solve this problem.
State legislation (HB 568) is being considered in Ohio to ban pit bulls- the first ban on a state-wide level. There are 12 states that have state-wide legislation prohibiting municipalities from discriminating against pit bull mixes: CA, CO, FL, IL, ME, MN, NJ, NY, OK, PA, TX , VA. Last year, dogs were responsible for 16 human fatalities in the US (97% of fatalities over a 10 year period have involved unaltered dogs; 25% have involved tethered dogs). This represents a ratio of 87 500 dogs killed for every human fatality. Swimming pools were responsible for 30 times more deaths than dogs were.
Smoking was responsible for 10 000 times more human fatalities than dogs were. Alcohol-related driving was responsible for 1000 times more human fatalities than dogs were
.

This entry was posted in dogs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

