My Cholesterol values

I had my cholesterol run – it was $40 to do this.  Mostly, I wanted the blood draw, and they gave me the tube of blood to run the ESR with but it was the wrong one  – it needed anticoagulant in it.  Anyway, it was preThanksgiving holidays, and I wasn’t fasting (I had oatmeal for breakfast) and under a lot of stress, but it wasn’t too bad.  I know that if I go for a heart consult, the dr. will want these values.
 

test

result

Ref. range

unit

Chol

191

<200

Mg/dL

HDL

68

20-71

Mg/dL

Trigl

47

<150

Mg/dL

LDL

113.6

0-100

Mg/dL

VLDL

9.4

5-25

Mg/dL

Chol/HDL

2.8

3.3-4.4

ratio

 
I consider myself in the very high risk category, so my LDL goal should be <70 mg/dL.  Some tips on how to lower the LDL.
 

Risk category

LDL goal

Very high (diabetes, CVD)

< 70 mg/dL

High (diabetes, CHD risk equivalent)

<100 mg/dL

Moderate (2+ risk factors)

<130 mg/dL

0-1 risk factor

<160 mg/dL

 
My chol/hdl ratio was pretty good though putting me in a less than 1/2 avg risk.
 
NCEP Report, Circulation 2004;110:227-239.
This entry was posted in Health and wellness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

