Tammy’s bloodwork and ESR

Tammy’s blood work

Test

Dog Ref

Range

Tammy

Unit

WBC

1.0-4.8

8.3

K/ul

RBC

5.5-8.5

6.40

M/ul

HGB

12-18

15.6

g/dL

HCT

37-55

44.6

%

MCV

60-77

69.7

fL

MCH

19.5-24.5

24.3

pg

MCHC

32-36

34.9

g/dL

RDW

11.9-16

14.1

%

MPV

5.8-9.2

9.5

fL

PLT

200-900

123

K/uL

NE%

 

 

 

LY%

 

31

%

MO%

0.15-1.35[2]

4

%

EO%

 

7

%

BA%

 

 

%

Segs

 

58

%

Microcyte

 

 

 

lymphocytes

 

 

%

monocytes

 

 

%

eosins

 

 

%

Hypo

 

 

 

I tried to perform a modified ESR test.  I need to work out the details, but I will post the try here.  I did it in the truck.  The temp was 79F.  I used a 3/10 cc 31 gauge syringe for the test and EDTA in the tube as anticoagulant.  The syringe gauge should definitely be lower (larger needle, or possibly top load a dry cleaned out used 3/10 cc syringe to the 3/10 cc mark), and I probably should use citrate instead (EDTA chelates the iron, which may influence the plasma color; of course, citrate reduces it also changing the color – but the main point to note I think is the turbidity).  When I did it on my blood, the tube that was given to me did not have anticoagulant in it, so it clotted.  I’m posting the pic for the plasma color comparison.  Also, I wanted to equilibrate the blood in the syringe at atmospheric pressure, but that was done about 15 min. after I started the test.  Obviously, the mm values need correction for the smaller distance.  It’s a nice theoretical problem, but experimentally I need to strive to be closer to a critical measuring value (up the volume of blood to the 3/10cc mark).  The values don’t change very much on this scale at 1 hour.
 A comparison of the plasma from Tammy (left) and from me (right) after over 1 hour.
 
So the setup actually looked like this – not a full tube, I realize…
This entry was posted in dogs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

