Birds

I made it up to Santa Fe visiting the Santa Ana pueblo and the Kuaua ruins at the Coronado State Monument.

Another Spanish translation:

My translation:
“We visited a good number of these pueblos. All of them were well constructed, with straight walls, well squared. Their villages did not have defined roads. Their houses were 3, 5, 6 and 7 stories high, with many windows and terraces. The men worked with the loom and the hoe, and the women worked in the kitchen and in building and repairing houses. Rope made with plant fibers was seen, and the women wore woven dresses of many colors.

They are a neat people, peaceful, of good appearance and excellent physical condition, alert and intelligent. There was no evidence of the consumption of liquor, which is a good sign. I did not see any deformed or sick people among them. The men and the women are both excellent swimmers. Also, they are experts in the art of painting and are good fishermen. They live in complete equality, without exercising dominance, or demanding obedience.”

Gaspar Perez de Villagra – 1610
The official translation:

The Santa Ana pueblo was a beautiful 2 mile sunset walk along the irrigation canal next to the Rio Grande. I saw many birds including duck and geese that were too quick for my camera, and a wild turkey restoration area that they are constructing.





There were also many interesting rocks (one with veins in it), small animal tracks, and a bitter plant that I tasted.




The Kuaua ruins had preserved murals with very interesting artwork and a 2 sided presentation (Indian –Spanish) reflecting the 2 ancestors of the area.

Artifacts from the Indians
Artifacts from the Spanish
I overheard a discussion about Hopi Indian naming. They were talking about the fact that the Indians don’t name their children for 20 days. It occurred to me that this was similar to what I recall reading in Alex Haley’s book “Roots” when he was writing about the naming of the first generation of his ancestors that were taken into slavery.

There is a little bit of a steep climb on the way to Santa Fe. I slowed down and made it up the hill. As I think about my transmission problem, I am inclined to keep the transmission that I have (it is functioning pretty well in at least 4 of the gears that it has). If I don’t drive too fast (avoiding catastrophic transmission failure by keeping the torque low) then maybe I can get a little more out of the transmission, at least until the next month. Changing the transmission fluid and filter may help. I don’t really have the money to fix it. It is either fix it or eat/move/feed dogs/have medicine). So, I have stocked up on water (7 gallons) and dog food, and hope to make it out to Folsom to visit the Folsom man site. There are apparently 2 climbs to get out there, both of them gentler than the climb to Santa Fe, certainly gentler than the climb to Los Alamos, which I still have to make to get gas..
This site lists some common problems with the 4L60E transmission.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

