Stowe

I had picked up insulin the day before, measuring my blood pressure and heart rate at the same time. 130/70 hr 103. At the same time, during this stop at the pharmacy, my camera had disappeared. I was left with the choice of using a disposable camera, or my cell phone camera which by now was out of charge and I did not have my charger with me. I opt for the latter for the simple fact that I would be able to see what I had taken a picture of, and also for the 911 possibility. The quality of the pictures would not be as high. I get a car charger.

Arriving in Stowe, I enjoy a 11 mile bike ride with the dogs along a beautiful bike trail with 11 bridges over a stream, punctuated at the end with artwork.

The dogs got a lot of socialization experience, rollerblades, calfs,

young children, people in wheelchairs, special bikes, and also handicapped dogs,

and horses.

The next day, after sleeping in the tent that night, we headed out to the mountains and enjoyed a pretty strenuous 4 mile hike up to the lodge and cave on the Clara Box trail.

The trail has a ladder that descends through a cave.

There was no way to do this with the dogs, but we found a way around the cave, although Petey required some encouragement at points. The nice thing about this trail is that it is the perfect trail for someone who is having to adjust to limits that are somewhat less than what they used to be. One could sleep in the cave,

or a lodge at the top,

if one really misjudged the amount of time required. We descended at sunset, arriving at the flatter wider part of the trail at dark where we were met by a search and rescue dog. We had a flashlight. After the dogs shared a polite exchange, we continued on to finish the trail in the dark on a paved road. The dogs were happy for the food arriving at the truck. I was happy for the warmth. I was in a t-shirt, and after the somewhat stressful hurry back, a chill sets in. I was happy not to have decided to stay in the lodge, although the sunrise would have likely been spectacular. The trail intersects the long trail,

a trail that bissects the entire length of Vermont through the mountains.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

