Some More Meditation

Yesterday, I ran out of blood pressure medicine, and since I need the last bit of gas in my car for some lab work, I decided to wait until today (lab day) to refill the script.  I took advantage of this opportunity to go to my first yoga class, and take a look at my heart with no aspirin or blood pressure medicine.  So, first the yoga… This was really really fun.  We took some pictures of my posture before the class,

posture_pics

left_turn

IMG_1082

right_turn

and then I went through the class noting the problems with my body at different points.  The right shoulder problem appeared in 3 different postures, exacerbating at about the last 5 degrees to achieving the final posture.

shoulder1

Some issues with weight appeared, and my balance was noted to be compromised on both legs,

on_left_foot

but much worse on the right (the one with the peroneal damage, more damage from stress fractures, and less sensation).

on_the_right_foot

There was a little dizziness noted with sudden transitions of my head from very low to very high positions.

So, after all of this, I went back and took my blood pressure.  I measured it at 148 over 88 on the left arm, and 150 over 88 on the right.  Now for the aortic valve auscultations (between the 2nd and 3rd intercostals to the right of the sternum)…  Two sequences were done: the first was a sit, stand, bow, stand, sit, hold your breath sequence.  The second was a lie down, sit up, lie down, roll to left side, roll up, roll to right side, roll up, turn onto stomach.

no_med_sitting_fullseq

Above: full first sequence of sit/stand/hold breath

sitting_no_med

Above: blow up of the sitting portion of sequence 1.

standing_no_med

Above: blow up of the standing portion of sequence 1.

bowing_no_med

Above: blow up of the bowing portion of sequence 1.

holding_breath_for_1min

Above: full minute holding breath.

holding_breath_for1min_first10sec

Above: toward the beginning of 1 min. holding breath.

holding_breath_end_no_med

Above: toward the end of 1 min. holding breath.

full_sequence_lyingdown_nomeds

Above: full sequence 2: lying down

lying_down_no_meds

Above: lying down

situp_nomeds

Above: sit up

lying_on_stomach

Above: lying on stomach

turning_on_left_side_nomeds

Above: left side lying down

turning_on_right_side_nomeds

Above: right side lying down

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

