Finding a Place for a Nonnative, Fattie and Others In Need of Some Independence

On my way in for Shabbat services, I had stopped at the recycling center only to see it being closed by 2 Black men at 12 noon on Saturday.  They are apparently also now closed on Sunday.  Since it is a very long drive for me, I’m struggling to comprehend the implications of the only weekend hours being available for recycling being 9-12 on Saturday.  It seems not only unGodlike, but also uncivil, and very disrespectful of the environment.  It used to be open day and night.

I had stopped in Columbus, Tx and picked up a flowering pear tree.  The people who had been selling them didn’t really know too much.  Well, as it turns out, the tree hybridizes in the wild to produce a lot of invasive nonnative not terribly palatable shrubs.  I rather quickly decided that I did not want to do that to the area where I was staying which is quite wild, and where my neighbors do try to cultivate other fruit.  I live with field mice who seek shelter in the trailer from the red tailed hawk population out here.  It’s that wild.

So, here I was with an 8 foot tree that needed a difficult home.  Some place manicured since it is apparently a very fragrant and beautiful tree.  I was sure it needed a home with someone who could water the plant daily.  After growing to 8 ft, it deserved as much.

After trying the synagogue, I decided to give the Houston SPCA animal shelter a try to see if they would want it.  They did!!!  So, the tree will have a home there, where I can visit it sometimes.  I feel better about this, than I do about taking the tree back to the store to get my money back, because the people that sold the tree to me in the first place, obviously didn’t care enough about the tree to find the right home for it.

In the process, I took the time to visit with some of the dogs.  A 9 month old tripod named Bernard was out for a walk.  Beautiful dog.

102_2829The cat area was pretty full.  My Rabbi is independently trying to adopt out two kitties, too.

I mostly looked at the small dogs, and then the older female dogs.  Olive, an 8 year old female who came in as a stray, was quite energetic beyond her years.  She related well to people and seemed to love chasing a toy, and chewing it. I consider her to be highly adoptable, with a beautiful smile.

102_2809Another dog, Fattie, sat up in a top cage.  i asked them to bring him out.  He was a little less interactive with people, and probably needs a new name.  He seems to like to explore, and was quite happy to get out.

102_2820Tommie, a female dog (below), with a male name, never made it out of her cage in spite of her eagerness.  She’s 8.

102_2813I asked around for the more difficult dogs to adopt out, and was introduced to Queen.  Although only 4 months old, her time had already run out at another shelter, and she had been transferred here.  She was all over her people with kisses and affection, and the only thing that might have been a strike against her, was her brindle color, which I find beautiful.

102_2823And then, dog after dog, abandoned because their owners had moved, or developed allergies, or other problems.  Many given a second chance from another shelter where their time had run out.  It made me think of my adoption screen.

102_2815102_2816

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

