Wound Healing

I’m a little worried about this one.  I hurt my right foot with a blister by wearing shoes without socks and a shoe lace that was too short last July 4, 2013.  Two weeks later, it has not healed, and for the past 2 days has begun to swell.  I’ve lost definition in the ankle and some part of the metatarsal from swelling, and am starting to feel pain. I generally don’t feel too much in my feet.   Someone gave me some Mupirocin 2% to put on it, that I started today.

100_3132From the top, the feet don’t look too terrible.

100_3131

I’ve started washing the wound with soap and water 3 times a day, followed by ethanol, then the antibiotic creme.  Leaving it open, elevated much of the day, and then exercising on a bike for a rapid mile or so after dark when my fast is broken and it is cooler with the dogs to stimulate circulation.  I should probably do that barefoot so nothing rubs, but I didn’t today.

In the interest of calendars and reading, I spent a little time working on the days of the week in Arabic (eventually getting a 100%, although really there are only 7 so it isn’t that hard to find something to recognize in each day).  I recognize the word for Shabbat in Ass-sabt.  I also think Wednesday is pretty interesting – The Hebrew V is a B without a dot, and is preserved as a B in Arabic, and the double vowel i-i at the end of the word in Hebrew is preserved as an a-a in Arabic.  The r unique to all of the days in Arabic, and almost all of the days in Hebrew, is preserved in both Hebrew and Arabic.  So, yom revii becomes al arr-baa-aa-a.  Thursday is very close in both languages – yom chamishi becomes al khamiss.  Tuesday preserves some structure – the lam is preserved, as is the overall sylable struture in the word. yom sheleshi becomes ath-tho-la-thaa, with the sh becoming th.  Monday preserves the n sound and the aiyi double vowel, but removes what I would have anticipated to be the highly conserved shin.  Actually, looking closer, it is replaced with the th sound that also has the triple point (in Arabic).  This would maybe suggest that the days of the week were established after writing.  Sunday is a stretch: the Hebrew ri is replaced with ha (this works in a French-English translation…but seriously), and the final nun becomes a dalet.  Not really convinced here.  Wait a minute – it’s actually easier than this.  Yom Echad becomes Al Ahad.  Very direct.  I don’t find any relationship in Friday.  A little research suggests that day 6 in Hebrew was replaced with “meeting” or “coming together” in Arabic.

I finished the day working on words for animals in Arabic.  Dolphin, camel, gazelle, giraffe, kangaroo, octopus all translate from Arabic pretty straightforwardly into English – horse and rabbit maybe.  Gato and vaca (Spanish words) also translate pretty easily from Arabic.  I recognize the Hebrew word for dog from the Arabic, again with a v to b substitution (kelev(m), kalbah (f)  becomes kalb).  I eventually got a 100% (50/50) on this exercise. I have been trying to read the letters and transliterate the words; without this process, it is a little like recognizing the details of a picture.  There are 7 suras in the Qu’ran that are named after animals:

Sura II: The Cow Al-Baqarah, سورة البقرة

Sura VI: The Cattle Al-‘An`ām سورة الأنعام

Sura XXVI: The Bee An-Naĥl سورة النحل

Sura XXVII: The Ant An-Naml  سورة النم

Sura XXIX: The Spider Al-`Ankabūt سورة العنكبوت

Sura LXXVI: The Man Al-‘Insān سورة الانسان

Sura CV: The Elephant Al-Fīl سورة الفيل

One of them is the plural of another chapter, although the plural word itself does not seem to have any resemblance to the singular word.  I looked up a little lesson on forming plurals, and here I am trying to put things together, Baqarah, I would guess, should become Baqaraat, بقرات  .  This is pretty similar to Hebrew, where the singular feminine ending sometimes ah becomes plural by substitution of ot (like Torah Torot).  As far as the chapter title goes, maybe it reflects the distinction between cows and cattle.  Probably the am in Al Anam is the masculine plural of An like the im in Hebrew. 

Otherwise, I have been nursing some mice back to health that I discovered trapped without food or water.  One was dead, two just barely responsive.  I gave them a little sock with a hole in the toe to crawl into, and they love it.  They were having problems maintaining body warmth.  They look at me with very soulful eyes when I check on them now.  At some point, I think, I will release them into the wild when they are a bit stronger.  They used to scare me because they move so fast, but now I feel incredibly bonded to them.

100_3134My feet will heal.  I’m pretty sure we don’t need to hurt these little guys (and girls).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

