Numbers: هدية لكم، من لي

Ok.  I’m feeling a little sheepish here.  If you look at the words for numbers, the Hebrew and Arabic translations for the days of the week are very close.  Day 1, Day 2, Day 3, Day 4, Day 5 and Day 7.  So, a little work on number words in Arabic (100% 20/20), and in Hebrew (100%).  Some number game work in Arabic (23.2 is about what I could do here) and Hebrew (100% 1:50.6) to pick up speed. And finally, a nice little quiz on indial/arabic numbers, and the Hebrew equivalent.

There are all sorts of theories on the meaning of numbers in both Torah and the Qu’ran.  I don’t know if these numerological treatments are unique to Judeo-Arab sacred texts.  It may be that they also exist in other cultures.  The Greek mathematician, Pythagoras, seemingly worked a bit in this field in 570-495 BCE.

Trying to think how this could be useful:  In the context of my phone being hacked and account balance depleted, I came up with a slightly more secure idea for password protection.  Pick an Arabic or Hebrew sentence, then use as a password the combination of 2 words that have the same numerical value.  The first word could be translated into one language like English, and the second one into another language like French or Spanish.  I’m sort of kidding here, but just to see if I could get this to work…

Starting with a verse from the Qu’ran 3:190 (no disrespect intended, it is chosen because it happens to be the current subject of interest).  Once again, I’m stuck on the 3rd letter, can’t find it anywhere in the existing versions of the alphabet.

Looking up.  Some noteworthy endeavors in the sky, though.  I’m going to give this a try sometime this month.  It would be a great feat to see something that Kepler never thought he could see, and a feat that is ideally poised to be enjoyed during Ramadan.

OK. Off to another chapter:  I spontaneously pick the forgiver  سورة غافر.  It is number 40, which by now, I can write ٤٠ and pronounce arba-un. Struggling to find a verse with enough words in it so that two might match.  One that does not sound too harsh, and can forgive what was probably a kid with no income who needed to make a phone call for help.  It is my duty to help this child, even if I don’t or cannot know them.  So, I pick 40:64: it’s a nice verse.

I found a little on-line helper to confirm my numbers.  Adding the letters up to make the words, I get the following list: 66, 741, 103, 90, 1032, 502, 139, 54, 362, 199, 356, 373, 90, 452, 790, 66, 262, 703, 66, 202, 231.  I’m indeed lucky, there are 2 repetitions in the list, 66 which is Allah repeated 3 times, and then 90 which occurs in word 4 (LKM) and word 13 (MN).   Word 4 لَكُمُ can be translated “you”, “for you”, “to you”, or “yours”.   Word 13 مِنَ can be translated “from”. So, the password might be “yoursde” which would magically work in either French or Spanish.  It is also interesting that the KLMN numerical values are the same in Arabic and in Hebrew.

Putting it all together: I construct my first phrase in Arabic:

هدية لكم، من لي

Eedee alakum, min lei.

I feel a little self-conscious here, like now, everyone is going to be analyzing Muslims for secret messages.  I should point out that the same analysis could be applied to any document with verses – the Bible, the Torah, the Constitution, newspapers, Shakespeare, etc.  Short of acknowledging and alleviating suffering, I don’t want anything more abstract with these numbers.  I don’t want to know the future, for example.  I don’t want a lot of money or power over others.  So, if it can be put to the purpose of much needed assistance in conditions of distress, then this is a Godly purpose, a social responsibility, regardless of religion.

As a final thought on this effort, I thought I would use someone else’s words that I found enlightening and thought-provoking in this context.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

