Passover

I got the kitchen clean for Passover. No flour or yeast in my possession. Admittedly, I missed the night before deadline, and ended up doing some cleaning in the morning before the first Seder. I figured that the Jews in their ancient wisdom had planned for people like me to “get it right” as I imagined in the old days the Rabbi coming over the night before to inspect the house, shaking his head, and saying, I’ll come back right before Pesach…

This was one of the nicest Seders I’ve had in a while. I celebrated it quickly and properly (with all the prayers) with my dogs who each got some matzos from the soup. As I had cleaned out the fridge, I had found some pickled beets I had made from last summer (I think they are called Torsha? I know they are Jewish). I used this for the lamb shank bone. Vegetarians substitute a beet as the rabbis say we are supposed to. It may be supposed to be roasted, but I was very interested to see how the raw beet had turned out with just salt after all this time.

As I laid out the cooked egg, the beet, the bitter herb pesto, the charoset (mix of apple and nuts), the karpas (that I had cut off of some overgrown onions), and the matzo, I thought to myself that the bare necessities for a balanced meal were present (and sufficient) on the Seder plate.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

